Binghamton Men Capture First Cross Country Title, Stony Brook Women Claim Third Straight

Binghamton Men Capture First Cross Country Title, Stony Brook Women Claim Third Straight

BURLINGTON, Vt. – The Binghamton University men upset the University of New Hampshire men’s squad to capture the 2009 America East Cross Country Championship title while the Stony Brook University women claimed their third-straight championship crown on Saturday morning in Burlington, Vt.

Binghamton captured its first men’s cross country team title in the program’s Division I history. Finishing second as a team in the men’s race was New Hampshire followed by Stony Brook in third, Albany in fourth and Vermont in fifth. Boston U., Maine, UMBC and Hartford claimed sixth, seventh, eighth and ninth, respectively, in the men’s race.

For the women, Maine claimed second behind three-time champion Stony Brook followed by Vermont and New Hampshire, claiming third and fourth, respectively. Boston U. tied for fifth with Albany, and Binghamton, UMBC and Hartford scored seventh, eighth and ninth, respectively.

Binghamton junior Erik van Ingen (Marathon, N.Y./Marathon/Canisius) raced to the finish line of the 8K course in 25:18.70 and claimed the men’s individual title while on the women’s side, Maine sophomore Corey Conner (Townsend, Mass./North Middlesex Regional) claimed the women’s individual title, completing the 5K course in 17:56.90.

Van Ingen finished seven seconds ahead of runner-up and teammate graduate student Chris Gaube (Vestal, N.Y./ Vestal). Vermont senior Doug Maisey (Gwynedd Valley, Pa./Wissahickon) captured third followed by Bearcat junior Casey Quaglia (Bangor, Maine/ Bangor) and Stony Brook senior Alex Felce (Stroud, England/Archway Comprehensive), who placed fourth and fifth, respectively. Last year’s champion Seawolf junior Tim Hodge (Tawa, New Zealand/Victoria University) claimed sixth. Wildcat senior Wesley Dinnan (Juneau, Alaska/Juneau-Douglas), Maine senior Miles Bartlett (Casco, Maine/Lake Region), Boston U. redshirt junior Eric Ashe (Hanson, Mass./Whitman-Hanson) and Bearcat freshman Jeff Martinez (Binghamton, N.Y./Johnson City) represented the rest of the all-conference team.

Stony Brook junior Holly van Dalen (Wanganui, New Zealand/Wanganui Collegiate) crossed the finish line in second for the second-straight year. Seawolf junior Lucy van Dalen (Wanganui, New Zealand/Wanganui Collegiate) placed third followed by teammate senior Laura Huet (Carrickmines, Ireland/Loreto College Foxrock) and Vermont senior Aly Millet (Half Moon Bay, Calif./Half Moon Bay, who placed fourth and fifth, respectively. UMBC junior Sara Parkinson (Lancashire, England/Loughborough University), Stony Brook senior Lisa Voltaire (Stockholm, Sweden/Lopargymnasiet), Boston U. sophomore Kathryn Matthews (Rocky Hill, Conn./Rocky Hill), Vermont sophomore Morgan Powers (Cincinnati, Ohio/Indian Hills) and the first freshman to finish, Binghamton’s Rachel Muira (Hopewell Junction, N.Y./John Jay) rounded out the top-10 finishers and the rest of the all-conference team.

Binghamton and Stony Brook captured the men’s and women’s America East Coaching Staffs of the Year awards, respectively. This is the first time Binghamton coaches Annette Acuff and Joe Pienta have won the award while the Seawolves coaches Andy Ronan and Steve Walsh claim their fifth-straight honor.

The NCAA Regionals are up next for the America East teams. The Northeast Regionals will be November 14 at Franklin Park in Boston, Mass.