Creatini, Shea, Maze Earn Top Field Hockey Honors

Bookmark and Share

Northeastern University junior forward Mari Creatini was named America East Offensive Player of the Year, while teammate Leigh Shea was selected as Defensive Player of the Year and Cheryl Murtagh was chosen Coach of the Year. Freshman forward Kristina Maze of University at Albany was chosen as the Rookie of the Year. The conference’s head coaches conducted the voting and the all-conference awards were announced at the America East Championship Field Hockey Banquet at the Newton Marriot Hotel.

Creatini was a key part of a potent Northeastern offense that leads America East in five out of six offensive categories and is the eighth-ranked scoring offense in the nation. She leads the conference in points (69), points per game (3.45), goals (28) and goals per game (1.40) and is first in the nation in points, goals and goals per game. Additionally, she is ranked 10th in the nation in assists (13) and 15th in the nation for assists per game (0.65).

Shea, a senior back, anchors the Northeastern defense that leads America East in fewest goals allowed (25), goals against average (1.23), and shutouts (8) and is the eighth-ranked scoring defense in the nation. She is tied for first in the conference with 13 assists and is tied for 10th in the nation in that category.

Maze averaged 1.50 points per game as a freshman. She ranks eighth in the conference in goals per game with 0.50 and is sixth in the conference with 0.50 assists per game.

Murtagh has guided her team to a 15-5 record and a perfect 6-0 conference record this season. She brings her team to the America East Championship for the 13th time and the Huskies enter as the No. 1 seed. She has eight conference championships in her tenure.

Joining Creatini and Shea on the first team, which includes 10 players regardless of position and a goalkeeper, are seniors Lindsey Domers and Celeste Hubbard of Boston University, seniors Karly Bundy, Jaye Lance and Rebecca Ouellet of Maine, seniors Sam Carr and Jen Stamp and sophomore Katie White of University of New Hampshire, and senior Sara Webber of Northeastern.

Domers has averaged 1.37 points per game and is seventh in the conference in goals (19) and goals per game (0.53). Hubbard is third in the conference in points (36) and goals (13) and fourth in assists (10). Bundy has netted eight goals and is ranked ninth in the conference in that category. Lance is ranked 13th in the nation with a 1.33 goals against average. She has three shutouts and has made 77 saves. Ouellet leads a Black Bear defense that has compiled a 1.29 goals against average and recorded four shutouts. Carr has played in all 20 games for the Wildcats. Stamp is seventh in the conference averaging 0.45 assists per game and has accumulated 25 points. White is second in the conference in points (44), points per game (2.20), goals (21) and goals per game (1.05) and is ranked fourth in the nation in goals, eighth in points and 13th in points per game. Webber is tied for the conference lead and is ranked 10th in assists (13).

The second team selections consist of senior Lisa Burline and junior Alexis Johnson of Albany, senior Whitney Peabody of Boston University, junior Rachel Hilgar and senior Karyn Magno of Maine, junior Cecile Banas of University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC), juniors Christine Buckley and Brittany Schneider of New Hampshire, and junior Liane Dixon, sophomore Lauren Edelmeier and senior Melissa Rowell of Northeastern.

The all-rookie team includes Kristina Maze and Marisa Maze of Albany, Ashley Parker and Erin Prediger of Boston University, Julie Moore and Kristi Troster of UMBC, Caitlin Gillen and MacKenzie Stuart of New Hampshire, Sarah Ekhoff, Natalie Singelais and Megan Troxel of Northeastern and University of Vermont’s Elizabeth Berry.

All eleven of the first-team selections and eight of the second-team selections will be in action this week at the America East Field Hockey Championship at Northeastern's Sweeney Field. No. 4 Boston University is at No. 1 Northeastern and No. 3 Maine takes on No. 2 New Hampshire at Friday at 1 and 3:30 p.m., respectively. The championship game will be held at Sweeney Field, Sunday, November 9 at 2 p.m.